Main Content

Federal Assistance Now Available for Howard County

Main Content
Release date: 
September 27, 2011
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- Federal disaster aid in the form of Public Assistance funding is now available for Howard County as a result of the recent flooding from June 1 to Aug. 1, 2011, the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the state of Missouri announced Friday.

Local governments and certain nonprofits providing a government-like service in Howard County can now apply for FEMA reimbursements under the Public Assistance program.

The Public Assistance grant program provides supplemental funding to communities for emergency actions taken in response to a disaster, debris removal and for work done to repair or replace damaged public infrastructure.

Funding is provided on a cost-share basis as reimbursement for actual costs incurred. FEMA pays no less than 75 percent of eligible project costs, with state and local government responsible for the remaining amount.

FEMA funding goes directly to the state, which administers the Public Assistance program.

In total, 11 Missouri counties are now eligible for FEMA Public Assistance funding following the June 1 to Aug. 1 flooding. Counties previously designated to receive Public Assistance are Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Carroll, Cooper, Holt, Lafayette, Platte, Ray and Saline.

The U.S. Small Business Administration is the federal government's primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with a speech disability or hearing loss who use a TTY, call 1-800-462-7585; or use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS) to call 1-800-621-3362.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top