Two Additional State/Federal Disaster Recovery Centers to Open Tomorrow

Main Content
Release date: 
September 23, 2011
Release Number: 

SAN JUAN, PR -- The Government of Puerto Rico and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will open tomorrow, two additional State/Federal Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC) in San Lorenzo and Vega Baja to support applicants which have already registered for disaster assistance with FEMA.

DRCs operating hours are from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Saturday, until further notice. The new centers will be available at the following locations:

DRC in San Lorenzo
Antiguo Cuartel Policia Municipal
Calle Baleriano Muñoz, Final Sur

DRC in Vega Baja
Centro Auditorio Tortuguero
Carr. 687 Bo. Algarrobo Sec. Tortuguero

Eligible individuals and families may apply for assistance by calling 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA), via internet at, or via mobile phone application

On August 27, 2011, President Obama granted a federal disaster declaration making individuals and families affected by Hurricane Irene in Aguas Buenas, Arroyo, Caguas, Canóvanas, Carolina, Cayey, Cidra, Coamo, Comerío, Fajardo, Gurabo, Humacao, Jayuya, Juncos, Las Piedras, Loíza, Luquillo, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, Ponce, Río Grande, San Juan, San Lorenzo, Trujillo Alto, Vega Baja, Vieques, and Villalba, eligible to apply for disaster assistance.

During this hurricane season, individuals and families should have their emergency kits and plans ready. Residents in vulnerable areas should remain aware of any hazardous situations in their communities, listen to local officials and follow their instructions, and learn more about emergency preparedness by visiting

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and  first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top