Main Content

Lincoln County Added to Irene Disaster for Public Assistance

Release date: 
September 23, 2011
Release Number: 

CONCORD, N.H. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that Lincoln County has been added to the major disaster declaration for the State of Maine to receive federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts for damage caused by Tropical Storm Irene during the period August 27-29, 2011.

Federal funds are available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by Tropical Storm Irene. The four counties now designated for Public Assistance are Franklin, Lincoln, Oxford and York.

Federal funding also is available statewide on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: