Belknap County Added for Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
September 23, 2011
Release Number: 

CONCORD, N.H. – The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the New Hampshire Department of Safety, Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) announced today that Public Assistance grants are now available for Belknap County.

Public Assistance (PA) for emergency and permanent work may be available to local governments and certain private, nonprofit organizations in the county recovering from the effects of the recent flooding and devastation caused by Tropical Storm Irene from August 26 to September 6.

Counties declared eligible for PA may receive help for emergency work, such as storm-related debris removal and emergency protective measures, and for permanent work, including repair of roads and bridges, water control facilities, buildings and contents, public utilities, parks and recreational facilities and other public facilities, FEMA officials said. Counties previously declared for Public Assistance are Grafton, Carroll, Coos, Merrimack, Strafford and Sullivan.

“Funding for these infrastructure repair and civic restoration projects is shared jointly; 75 percent federal and 25 percent non-federal funds,” said Albie Lewis, federal coordinating officer for the New Hampshire disaster declaration.

Chris Pope, director of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, stated, “This will enable the towns and certain private nonprofit agencies of Belknap County, to recoup a large share of the costs of  clean-up and damage resulting from Tropical Storm Irene.”

Additionally, all 10 counties in New Hampshire are eligible for assistance for emergency measures required during the storm to save lives and protect property.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top