Disaster Assistance Deadline Extended to November 21

Main Content
Release date: 
September 21, 2011
Release Number: 

BISMARCK, N.D. – The deadline for North Dakota residents with flood-related damage to register for disaster assistance has been extended by 60 days. The new deadline is Monday, Nov. 21.

“The flooding in North Dakota was ongoing for nearly six months,” said Deanne Criswell, Federal Coordinating Officer for FEMA. “Only now are some individuals learning the true extent of their flood damages. We want everyone to have the opportunity to register for disaster assistance.”

The 60-day extension applies to the following types of assistance: 

  • Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Disaster Assistance
  • U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Loans

Residents affected by the 2011 flooding can register for assistance by calling: 800-621-3362 (also applies for VRS and 711-Relay users) or TTY 800-462-7585. The toll-free line is open from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. CDT. Individuals may also register for disaster assistance at www.disasterassistance.gov or with a smart phone at m.fema.gov.

Information about SBA loans is available through SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center by calling 800-659-2955, emailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov, or visiting SBA’s Web site at www.sba.gov. Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals may call TTY 800-877-8339. Applicants may also apply for SBA loans online at SBA’s secure Web site at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.

Disaster officials remind residents that even if they have already repaired flood damage to their homes, disaster assistance may be available to help pay those repair costs. Residents should keep receipts to document any repairs they have made.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top