Main Content

Three Disaster Assistance Deadlines This Week

Release date: 
September 20, 2011
Release Number: 

BISMARCK, N.D. – North Dakotans with flood-related damage to their home, vehicle, personal property or business have just a few days remaining – until Thursday, Sept. 22 – to register for three types of disaster assistance. The programs include:

  • Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Disaster Assistance
  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA)
  • U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Loans

State and federal officials encourage residents affected by the 2011 flooding to register for assistance immediately by calling: 800-621-3362 (also applies for VRS and 711-Relay users) or TTY 800-462-7585. The toll-free line is open from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. CDT. Individuals may also register for disaster assistance at or with a smart phone at

Individuals can file DUA benefit claims with Job Service North Dakota online at; by mail or fax (forms are located under the DUA link on; or by phone at 701-328-1152 (TTY 800-366-6888), from 8 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Information about SBA loans is available through SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center by calling 800-659-2955, emailing, or visiting SBA’s Web site at Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals may call TTY 800-877-8339. Applicants may also apply for SBA loans online at SBA’s secure Web site at

Disaster officials remind residents that even if they have already repaired flood damage to their homes, disaster assistance may be available to help pay those repair costs. Residents should keep receipts to document any repairs they have made.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: