Five More Disaster Recovery Centers Set to Open

Main Content
Release date: 
September 19, 2011
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- Five more state and federal Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) will open on Tuesday, September 20, to assist individuals, households and businesses affected by Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee and the subsequent flooding, according to state and federal officials.

Three of these centers -- in Clinton, Columbia and Putnam counties -- are "mobile," meaning that they will be open through Thursday, September 22. After Thursday, these facilities will be deployed to other locations, but will return to each county at a date yet to be determined. Counties will be notified once a schedule is established.

Two DRCs -- in Saratoga and Delaware counties -- are "fixed" facilities that will be open until further notice. Unless otherwise noted, all centers are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. seven days a week. (Both locations in Suffolk County are closed on Sunday.)

This brings to 22 the number of centers that are operational. The new DRC locations are shaded:

Albany County
Cornell Cooperative Extension, 24 Martin Road, Voorheesville, NY 12186

Clinton County
Town Hall, 151 Banker Road, Plattsburgh, NY 12901

Columbia County
Copake Community Center, Mountain View Road, Copake, NY 12516

Delaware County
Sidney Town Hall Civic Center, 21 Liberty Street, Sidney, NY

Essex County (2)
Community Center, 11 School Lane, Ausable Forks, NY 12912
Moriah Fire Station, 630 Tarbell Hill Road, Moriah, NY 12960

Greene County (2)
Prattsville Town Hall, 14517 Route 23 Main Street, Prattsville, NY 12468
Windham Adventure Park, 273 South Street, County Route 12, Windham, NY 12946

Montgomery County
1000 Riverfront Center, Amsterdam, NY 12010

Nassau County
Sports Complex Mitchell Field, Airport 1 Charles Lindberg Blvd., Uniondale, NY 11553

Orange County
Orange County Fire Training Center, 9 Training Center Lane, New Hampton, NY 10953

Putnam County
Mahopac Fire Department, 741 Rt. 6, Mahopac, NY

Rensselaer County
Social Services Office Adm. Bldg., 127 Blooming Grove Drive, Troy, NY 12180

Rockland County
Provident Bank Ballpark, 1 Provident Bank Park Drive, Pomona, NY 10970

Saratoga County
F.B. Peck Hose Co. (Fire Station), 85 Saratoga Avenue, Waterford, NY 12188

Schenectady County
Rotterdam Square Mall, 93 West Campbell, Rotterdam, NY 12306

Schoharie County
Cobleskill Fire Department, 610 East Main Street in Cobleskill, NY 12043 (Open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.)

Suffolk County
H. Lee Denison Building, Veterans Memorial Highway, Hauppauge, NY 11788 (Closed Sundays)
Riverhead Fire Headquarters, 540 Roanoke Avenue, Riverhead, NY (Closed Sundays)

Ulster County (2)
Business Resource Center, 1061 Development Court, Ulster Avenue, Kingston, NY 12401Belleayre
Belleayre Mountain Ski Area, 181 Galli Curci Road, Highmount, NY 12444

Warren County
Lake Luzerne Town Hall, 539 Lake Avenue, Lake Luzerne, NY 12846

Westchester County
Westchester County Center, 198 Central Avenue, White Plains, NY 10606

The centers are staffed with disaster-recovery specialists who can provide information and answer questions about hurricane-related assistance, according to FEMA and state officials.

"Before visiting a recovery center, I strongly recommend people seeking assistance, to register with FEMA beforehand," said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Philip E. Parr. "Having spoken with or contacted state or local officials...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top