Cass and Marion Counties Added to Federal Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
September 19, 2011
Release Number: 

AUSTIN, Texas -- Wildfire survivors in Cass and Marion counties can now register for federal and state disaster assistance, as those two counties were added Monday to a Sept. 9 major disaster declaration. Thirteen Texas counties are now designated for assistance under the declaration, said officials with the Texas Division of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The decision follows a state request submitted Friday to make state and federal Individual Assistance available to eligible homeowners, renters and business owners in Cass and Marion.

"We're pleased to be able to provide assistance to these Texans so they can also begin to recover from the terrible fires," said Federal Coordinating Officer Kevin L. Hannes of FEMA. "Survivors in Cass and Marion, as well as in the previously designated 11 counties, should register with FEMA as soon as possible," he said.

Those counties are Bastrop, Colorado, Gregg, Grimes, Houston, Leon, Montgomery, Travis, Walker, Waller and Williamson.

Disaster assistance for eligible individuals may include:

  • Grants to help pay for temporary housing and home repairs to make a home habitable
  • Grants for serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance
  • Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration for homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private nonprofit organizations to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Survivors can register for assistance online at, via smart phone at or by also calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services can call 1-800-621-3362. Operators are available by phone from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. seven days a week.

Preliminary Damage Assessments in other Texas counties continue, and additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of the damage assessments.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top