Main Content

Schenectady County Now Eligible for Individual Assistance (IA)

Main Content
Release date: 
September 16, 2011
Release Number: 

ALBANY, NY- State and federal officials have announced that Schenectady County is now eligible to receive disaster assistance designed to help affected individuals and local governments recover from the effects of the recent flooding caused by Tropical Storm Lee.

“The counties are added based on damage data gathered by federal, state and local officials,” said State Coordinating Officer Andrew X. Feeney. “We are committed to ensuring that every eligible family and business receives the help they need,” Feeney added.

Counties previously declared eligible for Individual Assistance include Broome, Chenango, Delaware, Otsego and Tioga. Disaster assistance can include temporary housing assistance and home repairs; U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loans for individuals, renters and businesses to repair or replace damaged property; disaster unemployment assistance; grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs. 

Tropical Storm Lee survivors should register for disaster assistance as soon as possible by calling the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-621- 3362, TTY 1-800-462-7585. Multilingual assistance is available by phone. The toll-free line is open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET, seven days a week until further notice. Applicants can also register online at or with a web-enabled mobile device or smartphone at the link to "apply online for federal assistance."

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: