Main Content

Delaware, Otsego and Schenectady Residents affected by Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee Must Register for Each Disaster

Release date: 
September 16, 2011
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- Residents of counties hit by both Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee may be eligible for federal aid from both disasters but must register separately for each incident, officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) said today.

To date, three counties in New York State are part of two separate federally declared disasters. Delaware, Otsego and Schenectady counties were among those hit hard by Hurricane Irene in late August and survivors there became eligible for Individual Assistance (IA) under that declaration. Then the remnants of Tropical Storm Lee struck two weeks later and a new disaster declaration followed, again qualifying many of those same survivors for Individual Assistance.

FEMA officials stressed that to receive aid for both, survivors impacted by the storms must register twice, once for each federally declared disaster. Call 1-800-621-3362 to register, or visit a local Disaster Recovery Center (DRC). The toll-free line is open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET, seven days a week until further notice. For people with hearing disabilities, use the TTY number, 800-462-7585. Applicants can also register online at or with any web-enabled mobile device or smartphone at

In Schenectady County, a DRC is located at the Rotterdam Square Mall, 93 West Campbell Ave., Rotterdam. Presently there are no DRCs located in Delaware or Otsego, however survivors can register at any DRC facility in New York state.

"We want anyone who suffered damage from either Hurricane Irene or Tropical Storm Lee to get the maximum assistance available," said Philip Parr, federal coordinating officer for FEMA's operations in New York. "However, if you were hit by both disasters, you must register separately for each to receive aid," Parr said.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: