Vance County Added for Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
September 14, 2011
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- Vance County is now eligible for the Federal Emergency Management Agency's Public Assistance program, which helps local governments recoup costs for storm response, debris removal and infrastructure damage.

The Public Assistance program is open to state, local and tribal government agencies and certain private nonprofit organizations. Examples of eligible private nonprofit facilities are electric and water utilities, custodial care and medical organizations and educational institutions.

Public Assistance is a cost-share reimbursement program which includes:

  • Debris removal
  • Emergency protective measures
  • Road systems and bridges
  • Water control facilities
  • Public buildings and contents
  • Public utilities
  • Parks and recreation

The federal share of total eligible costs is 75 percent with the state paying the balance.

The 36 counties previously designated for Public Assistance are Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Sampson, Tyrrell, Warren, Washington, Wayne and Wilson.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top