More Municipalities Added to Puerto Rico Disaster Declaration for Hurricane Irene

Main Content
Release date: 
September 13, 2011
Release Number: 

SAN JUAN, PR -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Government of Puerto Rico officials announced today that additional municipalities are eligible under the presidential disaster declaration of August 27, 2011. The disaster declaration was granted due to the rains, flooding, mudslides, and landslides caused by Hurricane Irene.

Under the President's action the eleven additional municipalities now eligible for the Individual Assistance program are: Fajardo, Gurabo, Las Piedras, Naguabo, Naranjito, Río Grande, San Lorenzo, Trujillo Alto, Vega Baja, Vieques and Villalba. Individual Assistance can include grants for temporary housing, home repairs and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Low interest rate federal disaster loans are available to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private non-profit organizations through the Small Business Administration (SBA). Loans amounts and terms are set by the SBA and are based on each applicant’s financial condition.

Eligible individuals, families and businesses may apply for assistance by calling 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA) or via Internet at, or via phone application

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and  first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top