Main Content

Four Additional Counties Now Eligible for Individual Assistance and Two Counties for Public Assistance

Release date: 
September 12, 2011
Release Number: 

Albany, NY- State and federal officials have announced that six additional counties are now eligible to receive disaster assistance designed to help affected individuals and local governments recover from the effects of the recent flooding caused by Hurricane Irene.

Individual Assistance (IA) is now available in Bronx, Kings, Queens and Richmond counties. Storm survivors in these counties may apply for temporary housing assistance and housing repair; U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loans for individuals, renters and businesses to repair or replace damaged property; disaster unemployment assistance; grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs. 

Counties previously declared for IA include Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Montgomery, Nassau, Orange, Otsego, Putnam, Rensselaer, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren, Washington and Westchester counties. 

Public Assistance (PA) is now available in Otsego and Saratoga counties.
Storm survivors in these counties may receive help for emergency work such as debris removal and emergency protective measures; for permanent work including repair of roads and bridges, water control facilities, buildings and equipment, utilities and parks, recreational facilities and other public items and places.

Counties previously declared for PA include Albany, Bronx, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Kings, Montgomery, Nassau, New York, Orange, Putnam, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren, Washington and Westchester counties. 

Hurricane Irene survivors should apply for disaster assistance as soon as possible by calling the FEMA Hotline at 1-800-621- 3362, TTY 1-800-462-7585.  Multilingual assistance is available by phone. The toll-free line is open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET, seven days a week until further notice.  Applicants can also register online at  or with a web-enabled mobile device or smartphone at . Follow the link to "apply online for federal assistance."

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: