Main Content

New Missouri Counties Eligible for FEMA Public Assistance Grants

Release date: 
September 9, 2011
Release Number: 

Columbia, Mo. -- Ten Missouri counties are now designated for Public Assistance funding from the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the State of Missouri following the major disaster declaration of August 12, 2011.

Jurisdictions and certain nonprofits providing a government-like service in Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Carroll, Cooper, Holt, Lafayette, Platte, Ray and Saline counties are now eligible for FEMA Public Assistance funding.

The Public Assistance grant program provides supplemental funding to communities for emergency actions taken in response to a disaster, debris removal and for work done to repair or replace damaged public infrastructure.

Funding is provided on a cost-share basis as reimbursement for actual costs incurred. FEMA pays no less than 75 percent of eligible project costs, with state and local government responsible for the remaining amount.

FEMA funding goes directly to the state, which administers the Public Assistance program.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: