Disaster Recovery Center Open Monday Through Saturday in Yankton

Main Content
Release date: 
September 9, 2011
Release Number: 

PIERRE, S.D. -- A federal/state Disaster Recovery Center for people affected by this year's floods will open in Yankton on Monday.

"Now residents and business owners in Yankton County can apply for FEMA's disaster assistance and the first step is to register," said Mark Neveau, head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency's operation in South Dakota. "Then come by the Disaster Recovery Center to check on the status of your case, get rebuilding tips and mitigation advice, or get help filling out the application for a loan from the Small Business Administration."

The Disaster Recovery Center will be in the Yankton County Emergency Management Services Training Center at 807 Capitol Street in Yankton, Monday, September 12 through Saturday, September 17. Hours will be 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday.

"We're committed to helping every eligible applicant in Yankton County receive some form of assistance," said Kristi Turman, the State Coordinating Officer and head of the South Dakota Office of Emergency Management.

State organizations that will also be represented at the Disaster Recovery Center include the Department of Labor and Regulation (for those whose jobs were affected), the Department of Social Services, the Department of Health, the South Dakota Housing Development Authority, and the South Dakota Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster.

Those who have damage, lost income or suffered injuries because of flooding from March 11, 2011 through July 22, 2011 are encouraged to register with FEMA, the first step to getting disaster aid. Registering means contacting FEMA directly and getting a registration number.

Previous contact with FEMA or emergency officials, or calling the state flood hotline, does not mean you have registered with FEMA. People and businesses can register by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 800-462-7585, or going online at www.disasterassistance.gov. The toll-free line will be in operation from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. CDT seven days a week until further notice.

Persons affected by the flooding can also apply for federal assistance through a web-enabled mobile device or Smartphone by going to m.fema.gov and following the link to apply online for federal assistance and other recovery help.

The Disaster Recovery Center is open to everyone, and state and voluntary agencies may be able to provide assistance to a wide variety of flood survivors. However, under the disaster declaration only residents and business owners in Charles Mix, Hughes, Stanley, Union and Yankton counties are eligible for federal disaster assistance, and more than 1200 households have already registered with FEMA.

Officials advise applicants to have the following information available when applying for assistance:

  • Current telephone number
  • Address at the time of the disaster and current address
  • Social Security number
  • A general list of damages and losses
  • If insured, the name of the company, agent, and policy number
  • Bank account and routing number for direct deposit of funds if you become eligible

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top