Three additional Counties Now Eligible to Receive Disaster Assistance For Individuals (IA) and Infrastructure (PA)

Main Content
Release date: 
September 8, 2011
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- State and federal officials have announced that disaster assistance for Columbia, Putnam and Washington counties has been made available to help affected individuals and local governments recover from the effects of the recent flooding and devastation caused by Hurricane Irene, federal and state officials announced today.

Counties declared eligible for Individual Assistance (IA) may apply for temporary housing assistance and housing repair; U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loans for individuals, renters and businesses to repair or replace damaged property; disaster unemployment assistance; grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs. Counties previously declared for IA include Albany, Clinton, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Montgomery, Nassau, Orange, Otsego, Rensselaer, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren, and Westchester counties.

Counties declared eligible for Public Assistance (PA) may receive help for emergency work such as debris removal and emergency protective measures; for permanent work including repair of roads and bridges, water control facilities, buildings and equipment, utilities and parks, recreational facilities and other public items and places. Counties previously declared for PA include Albany, Bronx, Clinton, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Kings, Montgomery, Nassau, New York, Orange, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren, and Westchester counties.

Hurricane Irene survivors should apply for disaster assistance as soon as possible by calling the FEMA Hotline at 1-800-621- 3362, TTY 1-800-462-7585. Multilingual assistance is available by phone. The toll-free line is open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET, seven days a week until further notice. Applicants can also register online at or with a web-enabled mobile device or smartphone at Follow the link to "apply online for federal assistance."

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top