Otsego County Now Eligible to Receive Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
September 6, 2011
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- Disaster assistance for Otsego County has been made available to help homeowners, renters and business owners recover from the effects of the recent flooding caused by Hurricane Irene, federal and state officials announced today. The addition of Otsego County to the disaster declaration brings the total number of counties eligible for Individual Assistance to 20.

“The counties are added based on damage data gathered by federal, state and local officials,” said State Coordinating Officer Andrew X. Feeney. “We are committed to ensuring that every eligible family and business receives the help they need,” Feeney added.

Counties previously declared eligible for Individual Assistance include Albany, Clinton, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Montgomery, Nassau, Orange, Rensselaer, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren, and Westchester counties.

Disaster assistance can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are also available to help with residential and business losses not covered by insurance.

Registering with FEMA is quick and simple. Call the FEMA Hotline at 1-800-621-3362, TTY 1-800-462-7585.  Multilingual assistance is available by phone. The toll-free line is open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET.  Applicants can also register online at DisasterAssistance.gov or with a web-enabled mobile device or smartphone at m.fema.gov. Follow the link to "apply online for federal assistance."

Callers are advised to have the following information available to help speed up the application process:
• Your current phone number;
• Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying;
• Your Social Security number, if available;
• A general list of damages and losses you suffered;
• Clear directions to the property that was damaged;
• If insured, your insurance policy number, or the agent's and company name;
• General financial information; and
• Bank account code if you wish to speed up your assistance with direct deposit.

Federal Coordinating Officer Philip E. Parr added that state, federal and local governments will continue to work together to assist the long-term recovery efforts of the New York State communities included in this disaster.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top