All 21 New Jersey Counties Now Approved for Federal Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
September 4, 2011
Release Number: 

TRENTON, N.J. -- Federal disaster assistance is now available in all 21 New Jersey counties that suffered damages during Hurricane Irene.

Additional counties were added to the August 31 declaration following new damage assessments requested by the state, and conducted by local officials, representatives of the New Jersey Office of Emergency Management, and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The amended declaration now provides both Individual Assistance and Public Assistance for:

  • Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Cape May, Camden, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Ocean, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Passaic, Salem, Somerset, Sussex, Union and Warren  counties

"Residents who may be eligible for individual assistance grants should register with FEMA as soon as possible," said William L. Vogel, FEMA's federal coordinating officer in New Jersey.

To register for assistance, flood survivors should call FEMA's toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY/TDD 1-800-462-7585 for people with speech and hearing disabilities (for relay service, call 711 or 1-800-852-7897) between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m., seven days a week. Multi-lingual operators are available to answer calls during this time. Residents may also register online anytime at

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top