Another County & Expanded FEMA Categories Approved for Texas Wildfires

Main Content
Release date: 
September 2, 2011
Release Number: 

AUSTIN, Texas -- Another Texas county has been added to the major disaster declaration for wildfires and more counties already included in the July 1 declaration can receive reimbursement for eligible costs in all categories of work under the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Public Assistance (PA) program.

Officials with the Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) and FEMA announced today that Menard is the latest county to be added to the presidential disaster declaration for wildfires that occurred between Apr. 6 and May 3. This amendment brings the total number of counties to 51, with twelve of these counties including Menard, eligible for funding for emergency protective measures, debris removal and repairs to roads, bridges, water control facilities, buildings, utilities, parks and recreational facilities.

The amendment also makes Brewster, Crockett, Presidio and Young counties eligible for all categories of work under the FEMA Public Assistance program. Thirty-nine counties are eligible for reimbursement for Emergency Protective Measures only.

"This expansion of the work categories allows some of our communities to receive help for their firefighting expenditures and other fire-related damages and losses," said State Coordinating Officer Shari Ramirez-MacKay. "We also continue to request the addition of more counties based on the results of damage assessments."

"More categories and counties, means more reimbursement," said Federal Coordinating Officer Kevin L. Hannes. "Many of these communities not only had to fight the fires, but also suffered damage to equipment and facilities."

Learn more about FEMA's Public Assistance categories of work at  See a list of the 51 eligible Texas counties at

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top