Main Content

Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available

Release date: 
August 31, 2011
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- Missourians who live or work in the six counties under the state's Aug. 12, 2011, presidential disaster declaration may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits under the Disaster Unemployment Assistance program.

Income compensation under DUA is extended to those whose employment was lost or interrupted as a result of flooding from June 1, 2011, to August 1, 2011. The benefits cover those usually not entitled to unemployment insurance.

This declaration allows individuals affected by flooding in Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Holt, Lafayette and Platte Counties to access the 26-week DUA program. Applicants from these counties must file a claim for DUA no later than Sept. 23, 2011.

Eligibility for DUA is determined on a week-to-week basis and individuals can only receive benefits for as long as their unemployment continues as a result of the disaster.

To be eligible for DUA benefits, individuals:

  • Must be an unemployed or self-unemployed worker whose unemployment was caused as a direct result of the disaster;
  • Must be a U.S. national or a qualified alien;
  • Must not qualify for regular unemployment insurance benefits from any state;
  • Must have worked, or were scheduled to begin work, in one of the counties listed above; and
  • Must establish that the work or self-employment was a primary source of income.

Also eligible to apply for DUA are individuals who:

  • Can no longer work or perform services because of physical damage or destruction to the place of employment as a direct result of a disaster; or
  • Cannot perform work or self-employment because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster; or
  • Cannot work or perform self-employment due to closure of a facility by the federal government.

Applicants should call 1-800-788-4002 for information about filing a claim. To file a DUA claim, call your Regional Claims Center (see below). Call between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Regional Claims Centers (RCC):
Jefferson City RCC
Local Calling Area 573-751-9040
Outside Local Calling Area 800-320-2519

Kansas City RCC
Local Calling Area 816-889-3101
Outside Local Calling Area 800-320-2519

Springfield RCC
Local Calling Area 417-895-6851
Outside Local Calling Area 800-320-2519

St. Louis RCC
Local Calling Area 314-340-4950
Outside Local Calling Area 800-320-2519

Applicants need to provide proof of past earnings, such as business records or bank statements and their most recent income tax statement, at the time they file their claim.

FEMA disaster assistance registration may be completed by calling FEMA's toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), online at, or by smartphone through If the applicant has a speech disability or hearing loss and uses a TTY, call 1-800-462-7585 directly; if the applicant uses 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. Multilanguage assistance is available. Helpline hours are 7 a.m. to 10 p.m.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government's primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private nonprofit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and covers the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or so...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: