Main Content

North Dakota Disaster Aid Exceeds $289 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
August 26, 2011
Release Number: 

BISMARCK, N.D. – Federal and state disaster assistance for this year’s flooding in North Dakota totals more than $289 million.

Individuals and businesses in Barnes, Benson, Burleigh, McHenry, Morton, Ramsey, Renville, Richland and Ward counties, and the Spirit Lake Nation may apply for disaster assistance. The application deadline to apply for assistance is Sept. 22. State and federal officials encourage those affected by the disaster to register for assistance immediately by calling: 800-621-3362 (also applies for VRS and 711-Relay users) or TTY 800-462-7585. The toll-free line is open from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. CDT. Individuals may also register for disaster assistance at or with a smart phone at

By close of business on Aug. 25, 9,785 individuals had registered with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for disaster assistance. A total of 8,657 grants for more than $89 million had been approved for temporary housing and essential home repairs. The Other Needs Assistance program had approved more than $1.8 million for serious disaster-related needs such as personal property losses, and medical and dental expenses not covered by insurance or other sources. Additionally, 211 Temporary Housing Units had been placed on private sites for the homeowners to live in while repairing their homes.

FEMA's Public Assistance program provides funding reimbursement for eligible costs incurred for emergency response or damage to public infrastructure. Public Assistance has been approved for 44 counties and four reservations in North Dakota. Obligated funding as of Aug. 25 totaled $13.2 million for 307 approved projects.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved more than $184.7 million to date in low-interest disaster loans to residents and businesses. SBA disaster representatives are available at all Disaster Recovery Centers and Business Recovery Centers to issue loan applications, answer questions about SBA’s low-interest disaster loan program, explain the application process and help each resident or business owner complete an application.

Additional information about SBA loans is available through SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955, emailing, or visiting SBA’s Web site at Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals may call TTY (800) 877-8339. Applicants may also apply for SBA loans online at SBA’s secure Web site at

Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA), funded by FEMA and administered by Job Service North Dakota, has provided more than $405,450 to residents who are unemployed because of the flood disaster. Individuals can file DUA benefit claims with Job Service North Dakota:

  • Online at
  • By mail or fax (forms are located under the DUA link on
  • By phone at 701-328-1152, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. TTY customers can contact Job Service by calling 800-366-6888.

DUA is a form of individual federal disaster assistance that provides temporary income assistance to workers—including farmers and ranchers—and self-employed individuals who would not otherwise be eligible for regular unemployment insurance benefits.

The DUA registration deadline for Barnes, Benson, Burleigh, McHenry, Morton, Ramsey, Renville, Richland and Ward counties, and Spirit Lake Nation has been extended to Sept. 22.

Additionally, $730,894 in federal funds has been obligated for a state-managed crisis counseling program to help individuals and communities cope with after-effects of the disaster.

Free legal assistance is available to individuals through the Amer...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: