Disaster Recovery Centers Open in Blair and Tekamah

Main Content
Release date: 
August 22, 2011
Release Number: 

LINCOLN, Neb. -- Two Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC) operated by the state of Nebraska and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) open at 1 p.m. Tuesday in Blair and Tekamah to assist those affected by recent flooding.

The Blair DRC will be at the Court House, 1555 Colfax St., Blair, NE, 68008. It will be open Tuesday from 1 p.m. to 7 p.m. and thereafter from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Saturday until further notice.

The Tekamah DRC will be at the Tekamah City Auditorium, 1315 K St., Tekamah, NE, 68061. It will be open three days only beginning at 1 p.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday and then from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Wednesday and Thursday.

Counties designated for assistance to individuals are Boyd, Burt, Cass, Dakota, Dixon, Douglas, Knox, Sarpy and Washington. Future DRC locations will be announced as they are scheduled. Flood survivors may visit any DRC location for assistance.

Before visiting a center, people with flood-related losses should register with FEMA even if they have applied for assistance with the USDA, filed a claim with the U.S. Corps of Engineers, received assistance from local voluntary agencies, or have called the NEMA flood hotline to report their damage.

Register with FEMA by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov. Help is available in most languages. Those with speech or hearing disability may call (TTY) 800-462-7585. Persons affected by the floods also may apply for federal assistance through a web-enabled mobile device or smartphone. Visit m.fema.gov and follow the link to “apply online for federal assistance.”

Have the following information ready when you call to register:

  • Social Security number
  • Current and pre-disaster address
  • Description of losses caused by disaster
  • Contact information where FEMA can reach you
  • Total household income
  • Insurance information
  • Banking information (including account number if you want direct fund deposits)

The Disaster Recovery Centers are staffed by experts from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) providing loan information for individuals, renters and businesses, as well as other agencies. They will explain disaster assistance programs and help flood survivors.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top