Main Content

Community Relations Teams Visit Disaster Damaged Areas

Release date: 
August 18, 2011
Release Number: 

LINCOLN, Neb. -- In an effort to help people recover from flooding May 24 to August 1, 2011, community relations specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are contacting survivors throughout the disaster area to provide valuable information.

People who sustained uninsured or underinsured losses in the nine designated counties may be eligible for federal-state assistance. The counties that are designated major disaster areas for Individual Assistances are: Boyd, Burt, Cass, Dakota, Dixon, Douglas, Knox, Sarpy and Washington.

The specialists will go door-to-door, meet with storm survivors and local officials at recovery and senior centers, community organizations, and churches to explain the recovery process and provide information. Community Relations specialists are easily identified by their FEMA photo ID badges.

Survivors and business owners may qualify for a variety of assistance programs including:

  • Grants to help pay for temporary disaster housing needs.
  • Grants for essential repairs needed to make a residence safe, sanitary and functional.
  • Low-interest loans to repair or replace damaged property for homeowners, renters, private non-profit organizations and businesses from the U.S. Small Business Administration.
  • Other Needs Assistance grants for serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs.

Community relations team members remind people that it is necessary to register with FEMA to be considered eligible for federal disaster assistance.

There are four ways to register:

  • Online at
  • By smartphone through, click on "Apply Online for FEMA Assistance."
  • By phone, call toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362).
  • Espanol Oprima 2
  • Those with a speech disability or hearing loss, who use a TTY, should call 800-462-7585.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: