Cochran, Hartley, Jeff Davis, and Palo Pinto Counties Added to Major Disaster Declaration for Texas Wildfires

Main Content
Release date: 
August 18, 2011
Release Number: 

AUSTIN, Texas -- Four additional Texas counties have been designated for federal disaster assistance for wildfires, according to officials with the Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). This brings the total number of eligible counties to 50.

Cochran, Hartley, Jeff Davis and Palo Pinto counties are now eligible to apply for federal funding under a July 1 presidential disaster declaration for Texas. Eligible state, local and certain private nonprofit entities in the four counties can now request reimbursement for eligible costs in all categories of work.

The federal declaration named 45 counties eligible for the Emergency Protective Measures category.  An amendment on Aug. 15 added Fisher County, and approved Fisher, Kent and Moore counties to be reimbursed for eligible costs in all categories under the FEMA Public Assistance (PA) program.

Categories of work include:

  • Debris Removal
  • Emergency Protective Measures
  • Road Systems and Bridges
  • Water Control Facilities
  • Buildings, Contents and Equipment
  • Utilities
  • Parks, Recreational and Other Items

Eligible Applicants in Counties:

  • State Agencies
  • Local Jurisdictions (cities, towns, etc.)
  • Certain Private Nonprofit Organizations

"We are glad that some of our hardest hit counties are getting this federal help," said State Coordinating Officer Shari Ramirez-MacKay. "The wildfires have impacted our local communities immensely. This aid should alleviate much of the burden."

"We continue to work side by side with the state in assessing damages, requesting approval for additional counties and categories, and moving through the reimbursement process as quickly as possible," said Federal Coordinating Officer Kevin L. Hannes.

More information about FEMA's Public Assistance program can be found at For more on the declaration, visit the TDEM website at

The mission of the Texas Division of Emergency Management, Texas Department of Public Safety, is to support the citizens of Texas and local jurisdictions as they plan for, respond to, recover from and mitigate the impacts of all hazards, emergencies and disasters. For more information, see:

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top