Fisher County Added to Major Disaster Declaration for Texas Wildfires

Main Content
Release date: 
August 16, 2011
Release Number: 

AUSTIN, Texas -- Another Texas county has been designated for federal disaster assistance for wildfires, according to officials with the Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

An amendment to a July 1 presidential disaster declaration for Texas adds Fisher County to a list of 45 counties already eligible to receive federal aid under FEMA's Public Assistance program, specifically for Emergency Protective Measures. Fisher, however, is eligible for all categories of work. In addition, eligible costs for all categories of work are now included for both Kent and Moore counties.

Categories of work include:

  • Debris Removal
  • Emergency Protective Measures
  • Road Systems and Bridges
  • Water Control Facilities
  • Buildings, Contents and Equipment
  • Utilities
  • Parks, Recreational and Other Items

"We are pleased that our request for another county and more categories has been approved," said State Coordinating Officer Shari Ramirez-MacKay. "This will help a great deal as the state continues to recover from these historic wildfires."

"FEMA is pleased to partner with the state of Texas in getting assistance dollars out to these local governments that have been battling these fires," said Federal Coordinating Officer Kevin L. Hannes. "We are working as quickly as possible to respond to the state's additional requests."

More information about FEMA's Public Assistance program can be found at  For more on the declaration, visit the TDEM website at

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top