Main Content
Release date: 
August 16, 2011
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. – Less than two weeks remain for homeowners, renters, and business owners who suffered damage as a result of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding and live in one of 25 Missouri counties designated for federal and state assistance to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The Aug. 26 deadline is coming up quickly,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Libby Turner. “Please use these last couple of weeks to fill out and return your SBA application. If you know someone who was affected by these events, please encourage them to take a few minutes to complete the registration process as well. This is a very important step toward recovery.

Registration may be completed online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov, by smartphone through m.Fema.gov, or by calling FEMA’s toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). If you have access or functional needs and use a TTY, call 1-800-462-7585 directly; if you use 711 or video relay service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. Multi-language assistance is available. Telephone registration is available daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., until further notice.

Before calling or registering online, residents are encouraged to have in hand:

  1. The address of the affected property;
  2. A brief description of the damage;
  3. Current contact information including an address, phone number and alternate phone number;
  4. Social Security number;
  5. Insurance information including policy numbers;

Disaster assistance may include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repair and other serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance or other sources.

Many disaster survivors have received an SBA disaster loan application in the mail. It is important to fill out the application and return it, even if you do not want a loan, because applying for SBA loans ensures disaster survivors are considered for the full range of disaster assistance that may be available to them.

If you do not qualify for an SBA loan, you will be referred back to FEMA and could receive additional grant money. If you are approved for an SBA loan, you are under no obligation to accept the loan.

The U.S. Small Business Association (SBA) also has a deadline of Aug. 26, 2011. The SBA provides low-interest loans to cover the uncompensated losses for personal contents up to $40,000 for both homeowners and renters and up to $200,000 for homeowners for physical damage to their primary residence.

The SBA also provides low-interest loans up to $2 million for uncompensated physical losses suffered by businesses of any size and private nonprofit organizations. Additionally, working capital loans are available for economic injuries sustained by small businesses in the declared counties and the adjoining counties. The combination of the two business loans cannot exceed $2 million. For information about SBA programs, applicants may call 1-800-659-2955 (TTY 1-800-877-8339).

Missourians living in the following counties designated for Individual Assistance under the presidential disaster declaration are urged to register with FEMA now: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Dunklin, Howell, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Pemiscot, Pettis, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Saint Francois, Saint Louis, Scott, Stoddard, Stone, Taney and Wayne

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps home...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top