Main Content

Kanabec County is Included in Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
August 11, 2011
Release Number: 

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. -- Minnesota Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials announce that Kanabec County is now included in a federal disaster declaration for Public Assistance (PA) to repair infrastructure damaged during severe storms, flooding and tornadoes July 1-11.

State and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in Kanabec County are eligible to apply for funding for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repair or replacement of damaged roads, bridges, buildings, utilities, recreation areas and other public facilities.

Under the cost-share program, FEMA funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work.

Chisago, Isanti, Kandiyohi, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Mille Lacs, Pine, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Stearns, and Yellow Medicine counties and the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe were included in the original July 28 Public Assistance disaster declaration.

FEMA's mission is to support our first responders and ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: