Main Content

One Week Remains to Register for Federal Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
August 8, 2011
Release Number: 

WESTFIELD, Mass. -- One week remains for Massachusetts disaster survivors to register for federal disaster assistance.

Survivors must register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency and return their U.S. Small Business Administration loan applications by Monday, August 15, to be considered for FEMA and SBA disaster assistance.

The Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency (MEMA), FEMA and its federal partners encourage any person or business owner who had storm-related damage to their home, vehicle, personal property, business as a result of the June 1 severe storms and tornadoes and has not registered to do so quickly.

Anyone in Hampden and Worcester counties who was impacted by the severe storms and tornadoes should apply for assistance, regardless of whether a survivor has insurance or is unsure if they are eligible. Survivors should still contact their insurance companies and file necessary claims.

Disaster assistance may include rental payments for temporary housing for those whose residences are unlivable, grants for home repairs and replacement of essential household items not covered by insurance. There are grants to replace personal property and to help meet medical, dental, funeral, transportation and other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other federal, state or charitable aid programs.

Anyone who has not registered with FEMA for disaster aid, and has questions about an application or seeks more information about recovery programs, should call FEMA's toll-free helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362). People who are deaf or hard of hearing can call (TTY) 800-462-7585. Lines are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. and multilingual assistance is available. Online registration is available at or through a smartphone or tablet at

Monday, August 15, also is the deadline for filing an application for a low-interest disaster loan with the Small Business Administration. While survivors are not required to accept a disaster loan, completing the SBA application is essential to receiving other assistance from FEMA.

Low-interest disaster loans are available to homeowners, renters, nonprofits and businesses of all sizes. They are the largest federal source of disaster funds for repairing or replacing damaged or destroyed property.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: