Disaster Aid Expanded for North Dakota

Main Content
Release date: 
August 4, 2011
Release Number: 

BISMARCK, N.D. – Federal disaster assistance is now available to residents and businesses in Benson County for damage caused by this year’s flooding. Federal aid will also be available emergency response measures and for repair or replacement of damaged public infrastructure in Sioux County and the portion of Standing Rock Reservation within North Dakota.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and state officials encourage those in Benson County affected by the disaster to register for assistance immediately by calling toll-free 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585. The toll-free line is in operation from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. (CDT) until further notice. Registration can be accomplished anytime at www.disasterassistance.gov or with a smart phone at m.fema.gov.

FEMA’s Individuals and Households Program includes a wide range of aid, including emergency home repair, temporary housing, replacement assistance for serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs. For those insured, the government may help pay for basic needs not covered by insurance.

Sioux County and the Standing Rock Reservation join 43 counties and three reservations already eligible for FEMA’s Public Assistance Program. Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by flooding.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within the state.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top