FEMA Registration Deadline Extended to Aug. 26

Main Content
Release date: 
July 28, 2011
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- At the request of Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has extended the deadline for renters, homeowners and business owners who suffered damage from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding to register for state and federal disaster assistance. The new deadline is Aug. 26, 2011.

"If you had damage, you must register with FEMA by Aug. 26, 2011. Don't prejudge your situation or feel that you may be taking something away from your neighbor," said Federal Coordinating Officer Libby Turner. "We want to make every effort to reach all Missourians and ensure that they receive assistance for eligible losses."

"After you register, an inspector will call to make arrangements to visit your damaged home or apartment," Turner said. "Ask for identification when an inspector arrives. FEMA and U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) inspectors all have photo identification badges and there is no fee for their inspections."

The SBA deadline for physical damage also has been extended to Aug. 26, 2011. The deadline for Economic Injury Disaster Loans remains Feb. 9, 2012.

Registration may be completed online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov, by Smartphone through m.FEMA.gov, or by calling FEMA's toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). If the applicant has a speech disability or hearing loss and uses a TTY, call 1-800-462-7585 directly; if the applicant uses 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. Multi-language assistance is available. Telephone registration is available daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., until further notice.

Assistance to individuals can include grants to help pay for temporary housing needs, essential home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance or other sources. Low-interest disaster loans from the SBA are also available for homeowners, renters and business owners to repair or replace real or personal property.

Applicants are reminded to keep their FEMA information updated, but not to register twice. Duplicate registrations will delay processing an application.

Renters, homeowners and businesses in the following 25 Missouri counties are eligible to apply for disaster assistance: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Dunklin, Howell, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Pemiscot, Pettis, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Saint Francois, Saint Louis, Scott, Stoddard, Stone, Taney and Wayne.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government's primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and covers the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

FEMA's temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA disaster loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with a speech...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top