Main Content

Recovery Update: Arkansas Receives More Than $35 Million in Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 25, 2011
Release Number: 

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- The state and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) have provided more than $35 million in assistance to Arkansans who suffered losses during the April 14-June 3 storms and flooding and the May 24-26 tornado outbreak.

The greater portion of assistance has gone to residents of the 37 counties designated under the May 2 presidential disaster declaration. Since then, $34,081,108 has been approved for those who sustained damage or loss, according to FEMA and the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM). The total includes grants for Housing Assistance and Other Needs Assistance to eligible residents, low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and reimbursements to government entities from the Public Assistance (PA) program.

Within two weeks of the July 8 disaster declaration, $1,098,174 had been approved for Franklin and Johnson counties to help eligible survivors get back on their feet. The first grant was awarded within 24 hours of the declaration.

"The story behind these impressive totals is that Arkansans across the state are rebuilding their homes, businesses and lives with the assistance they're getting," said State Coordinating Officer David Maxwell. "We have a way to go yet, but we're making strong progress everywhere."

FEMA and ADEM provided the following breakdown in current assistance levels for both declarations:

Housing Assistance $18,399,492 $811,354
Other Needs Assistance $3,348,455 231,320
SBA low-interest loans $11,215,600 $55,500
Disaster Unemployment Assistance $47,377 $0
Public Assistance $1,070,184 $0

"Our goal is to help Arkansans help themselves recover," said Deputy Federal Coordinating Officer W. Michael Moore. "These Individual and Public Assistance dollars help folks do just that, and we're pleased to be a part of that process."

As of July 25, nearly 10,500 survivors had registered with FEMA to begin determining their eligibility for state and federal assistance. Residents in the 37 counties designated on May 2 have until August 1 to register with FEMA. Affected residents of Franklin and Johnson counties have until Sept. 6 to register.

To register for assistance or check on the status of a registration, go online to, via web-enabled phone at, or call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585. FEMA phone lines are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week; multilingual operators are available.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top