July 22 is Last Day to Visit Disaster Recovery Center in Pettis County

Main Content
Release date: 
July 19, 2011
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today the closing of the FEMA/State Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) at Smith-Cotton Junior High School, 312 E. Broadway, in Sedalia, Mo., at 6 p.m. on Friday, July 22, 2011.

The Pettis County DRC is open Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Missourians may visit any DRC throughout the state. The locations and hours of operation of other DRCs currently open are:

Jasper County

First Methodist Church
501 W. 4th St.
Joplin, MO 64801
Open Monday through Saturday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice.

Taylor Performing Arts Center
Missouri Southern State University
3950 E. Newman Road
Joplin, MO 64801
Open Monday through Saturday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice.

New Madrid County

Morehouse School Cafeteria
420 S. Carroll St.
Morehouse, MO 63868
Open Monday through Saturday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice.

Before visiting a DRC, survivors are urged to first register with FEMA. Registration may be completed online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov, by smartphone through m.FEMA.gov, or by calling FEMA's toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). If you have a speech disability or hearing loss and use a TTY, call 1-800-462-7585. If you use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. Multi-language assistance is available. Telephone registration is available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., daily, until further notice.

SBA low-interest disaster loans up to $200,000 are available to homeowners to repair or replace damaged or destroyed real estate. Homeowners and renters also may be eligible for up to $40,000 to repair or replace damaged or destroyed personal property.

Businesses of any size and private non-profit organizations may borrow up to $2 million to repair or replace damaged or destroyed real estate, machinery and equipment, inventory and other business assets.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government's primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and covers the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

FEMA's temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA disaster loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with a speech disability or hearing loss, who use a TTY, should call 800-462-7585; or use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS) to call 800-621-3362.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top