Main Content

Disaster Aid Registration Deadline One Month Away

Release date: 
July 15, 2011
Release Number: 

WESTFIELD, Mass. -- Hampden and Worcester County residents affected by the severe storms and tornadoes that struck June 1 have one month to register for federal disaster assistance. The deadline to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is August 15.

"The registration deadline is approaching, and we want to encourage those who need disaster aid to apply now," said Federal Coordinating Officer Nick Russo of FEMA. "We want everyone who is eligible to get assistance."

Storm survivors in the designated counties must register with FEMA in order to obtain federal disaster grants and low-interest loans. Registration is the first step in that process and keeps open the possibility of a wide range of assistance.

To register or to have questions answered about FEMA disaster assistance applications, call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585. Registration is also available online at

Information about the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and the disaster loan application is available by calling 1-800-659-2955 or visiting SBA online at

FEMA disaster assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, replacement of essential household items and clothing, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster. Registration also is necessary to apply for SBA low interest disaster loans to cover losses not covered by insurance.

SBA applications can be downloaded from Survivors may also visit SBA's secure website at to apply online for a low-interest disaster loan or call 800-659-2955 or (800-877-8339 TTY).

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: