Six Days Left for Flood Survivors to Register With FEMA

Main Content
Release date: 
July 5, 2011
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. -- There are just six days left for Mississippi flood disaster survivors to register for disaster assistance. The last day for registration is July 11, 2011.

Eligible homeowners, renters and businesses who suffered losses in the flooding between May 3 and June 17 and who live in the 14 designated counties may be eligible for housing assistance grants that include funds to rent a place to live while rebuilding; to make minor home repairs to make a home safe, sanitary and functional; and replace essential household items not covered by insurance.

The 14 designated counties are Adams, Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, DeSoto, Humphreys, Issaquena, Jefferson, Sharkey, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Wilkinson and Yazoo.

To register, find out the status of your application, resolve problems or appeal a decision, call FEMA at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585. Help is available in all languages. FEMA also offers online registration at

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top