Wabash County Added For Individual Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 28, 2011
Release Number: 

Wabash County Added For Individual Disaster Assistance 

MARION, IL. -- Residents and business owners in Wabash County who sustained damage from the severe storms and flooding that struck Southern Illinois April 19 and April 22 through May 2 can now seek federal disaster assistance to help them with recovery.

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials today announced that Wabash County has been added to the presidential disaster declaration for Individual Assistance.

To apply for disaster assistance, residents are encouraged to call 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585. Survivors can also register online at www.disasterassistance.gov or by web enabled movile device at m.fema.gov.

When registering, applicants will be asked to provide:

Social Security number

Address of the damaged home or apartment

Description of the damage

Information about insurance coverage

A current contact telephone number

An address where they can get mail

Bank account and routing numbers if they want direct deposit of any financial assistance.

Survivors should register with FEMA even if they have insurance. FEMA cannot duplicate insurance payments, but under-insured applicants may receive help after their insurance claims have been settled.

Additionally, disaster assistance includes low-interest, federal disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

SBA disaster loans are available to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private, nonprofit organizations for their uncompensated losses. Homeowners may borrow up to $200,000 to repair or replace their primary residence. Homeowners and renters may borrow up to $40,000 to replace personal property. Businesses and private nonprofit organizations may borrow up to $2 million to repair or replace their property damage and/or economic losses.

For more information on SBA disaster loan assistance, call SBA at 800-659-2955, or visit www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance. Hearing impaired individuals may call 800-877-8339.

Wabash County joins the fourteen counties previously designated for Individual Assistance: Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hardin, Jackson, Lawrence, Massac, Perry, ...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top