FEMA Registration Deadline Extended to July 29

Main Content
Release date: 
June 28, 2011
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- At the request of the state of Missouri, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has extended the deadline for renters, homeowners and business owners who suffered damages from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding to register for state and federal disaster assistance. The new deadline is July 29, 2011.

"We've extended the deadline to allow people more time to register for assistance and to return their SBA loan applications," said Libby Turner, FEMA's federal coordinating officer for the disaster. "If you had damage or uninsured losses and have not yet registered, we urge you to do so today."

After registering you may receive a Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loan application package in the mail. Complete the loan package and return it promptly. You are under no obligation to accept the loan if approved. The SBA application is a necessary step in the recovery process and to be considered for other forms of FEMA disaster assistance.

You do not need to return the application to be considered eligible for temporary housing assistance, and grants for public transportation, medical, dental or burial expenses.

Registration may be completed online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov, by smartphone through m.FEMA.gov, or by calling FEMA's toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). If you have a speech disability or hearing loss and use a TTY, call 1-800-462-7585 directly; if you use 711 or video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. Multi-language assistance is available. Telephone registration is available daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., until further notice.

Assistance to individuals can include grants to help pay for temporary housing needs, essential home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance or other sources. Low-interest disaster loans from the SBA are also available for homeowners, renters and business owners to repair or replace real or personal property.

"After you register, an inspector will call to make arrangements to visit your damaged home or apartment," Turner said. "Ask for identification when an inspector arrives. FEMA and SBA inspectors all have photo identification badges and there is no fee for their inspections."

Applicants are reminded to keep their FEMA information updated, but not to register twice. Duplicate registrations will delay processing an application.

Renters, homeowners and businesses in the following 25 Missouri counties are eligible to apply for disaster assistance: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Dunklin, Howell, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Pemiscot, Pettis, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Francois, St. Louis, Scott, Stoddard, Stone ,Taney and Wayne counties.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government's primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and covers the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

FEMA's temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an S...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top