Main Content

FEMA Disaster Aid to Kentucky Tops $7.6 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
June 24, 2011
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Less than one month after being designated for Individual Assistance, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Commonwealth of Kentucky have approved more than $7.6 million in assistance to Kentucky residents affected by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding from April 12 to May 20. Approved funds help residents repair their damaged homes, replace uninsured personal property and find temporary housing following the disaster.

Individual assistance is available in 22 Kentucky counties: Ballard, Boyd, Carlisle, Carroll, Crittenden, Daviess, Floyd, Fulton, Graves, Hardin, Henderson, Hickman, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Livingston, Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Pike, Union and Webster.

To date, 1,767 Kentuckians in designated counties have registered for FEMA assistance. Aid has already been approved for 988 applicants. FEMA housing inspectors have conducted 1,441 inspections of damaged properties, including 99 in the last seven days.

FEMA has approved $7,659,009 in Individual Assistance. This includes $6,879,407 in Housing Assistance: money for temporary housing for individuals whose homes were severely damaged and uninhabitable. It also includes funds for repairs to damaged homes.

In addition to the Housing Assistance funds, FEMA has approved $779,602 in Other Needs Assistance. These funds help affected residents replace damaged or destroyed personal property, cover transportation expenses, and any medical or dental costs resulting from the disaster.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has issued 1,173 disaster loan applications. SBA loans are the primary source of federal disaster recovery funds for long-term disaster recovery. Loans are available to homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes to repair or replace damaged property and business assets not fully covered by insurance or other aid. SBA has already approved 40 loans, totaling nearly $2.2 million.

FEMA operated 11 Disaster Recovery Centers across the Commonwealth. A total of 946 residents visited these centers, meeting face to face with disaster recovery specialists. The last two centers closed June 17.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: