Main Content

More Than $14.2 Million Approved for Survivors of Mississippi?s April Storms and Tornadoes

Release date: 
June 23, 2011
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. -- Federal assistance approved for people in 29 Mississippi counties that were declared a major disaster area by the president because of devastating storms and tornadoes has reached $14,212,743. The registration period closes June 28, 2011.

Here is a summary through Wednesday, June 22, of all federal assistance to individuals who suffered losses due to the storms and tornadoes of April 2011:

  • $8,026,043 in total housing and personal needs has been approved.
  • Of that amount, $6,723,896 has been approved for housing expenses, including temporary rental assistance, home repair costs and assistance toward replacing destroyed homes.
  • $1,302,147 has been approved as "Other Needs Assistance" to cover essential disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses and lost personal possessions.
  • $6,186,700 in loans to homeowners, renters or business owners has been approved by the U.S. Small Business Administration.
  • 7,385 applicants have registered with FEMA for some form of disaster assistance.
  • 3,071 visits have been made at Disaster Recovery Centers operated jointly by FEMA and the state of Mississippi.
  • 4,713 home inspections to confirm disaster damage have been completed.
  • Teams of MEMA and FEMA Community Relations field specialists have distributed more than 51,975 flyers and worked in the affected counties to help identify and assist disaster survivors. In the course of explaining the recovery process, they have visited:
    • 16,200 residents
    • 1,761 businesses
    • 1,335 faith-based groups
    • 282 community organizations
    • 71 schools
    • 498 emergency managers, fire and law enforcement officials
    • 423 government officials
    • 132 post offices

Amounts approved under FEMA's Individuals and Households Program for counties affected by the April 2011 storms and tornadoes:

CountyIHP Amount
Alcorn $67,979.80
Attala $42,444.16
Chickasaw $972,487.65
Choctaw $208,390.63
Clarke $366,954.11
Clay $491,485.96
Coahoma $192,922.54
DeSoto $119,237.09
Greene $456,189.95
Grenada $11,644.58
Hinds $352,215.46
Holmes $301,197.05
Jasper $187,527.23
Kemper $590,176.74
Lafayette $171,110.96
Leflore $76,680.83
Marshall $79,998.37
Monroe $1,289,691.07
Montgomery $80,722.63
Neshoba $55,025.90
Newton $144,124.90
Panola $319,090.47
Quitman $197,317.01
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: