Main Content

FEMA Public Assistance to Georgia Approaches $2.5 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
June 23, 2011
Release Number: 

ATLANTA The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has now obligated almost $2.5 million in Public Assistance (PA) funds to help Georgia counties repair damage and rebuild infrastructure damaged or destroyed in the severe storms of late April. 

Public Assistance funds are available to eligible state agencies, municipalities and certain private non-profit organizations that provide essential services of a governmental nature.

“More funds will be obligated as the PA process continues,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Gracia Szczech. “These are for longer term projects and repairs that help restore publicly owned infrastructure.”

The 22 counties declared for PA in categories A to G (see below) are: Bartow, Catoosa, Cherokee, Dade, Floyd, Gordon, Greene, Harris, Heard, Jasper, Lamar, Lumpkin, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Pickens, Rabun, Spalding, Troup, Walker and White. Two additional counties – Coweta and Polk – are eligible for PA reimbursement under categories A and B only.

FEMA funding represents 75 percent reimbursement of the cost of approved public assistance projects.  Local government pays 15 percent; Georgia pays 10 percent, and manages the PA program.

The following is a summary breakdown of the PA funding obligated to date:

Category A: Debris removal                                        $441,000

Category B: Emergency protective measures           $277,000

Category C: Road systems and bridges                       $21,000

Category D: Water control facilities                                      $0

Category E: Public buildings                                          $11,000

Category F: Public utilities                                         $1,700,00...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: