Main Content

Three Additional Missouri Counties Approved for Federal Aid

Release date: 
June 21, 2011
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- The U. S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) said today that federal disaster assistance has been extended to three additional Missouri counties as a result of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that began hitting the state April 19.

Carter, Lawrence and Wayne join the 22 counties that have already been designated for Federal Individual Assistance under the presidential disaster declaration. These are Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Dunklin, Howell, Jasper, McDonald, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Pemiscot, Pettis, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Francois, St. Louis, Scott, Stoddard, Stone, and Taney counties.

"We're happy to announce that assistance to individuals and families will soon be available to eligible Missourians in three more counties," said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Libby Turner.

Anyone who had disaster-related damage and loss may register online anytime at Those with smartphones may register through You may also register by calling the FEMA toll-free registration line at 800-621-FEMA (3362). If you have a speech disability or hearing loss and use a TTY, call 1-800-462-7585 directly; if you use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. The hours are from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time, seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

FEMA's temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA disaster loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: