Two Disaster Recovery Centers Set to Open This Week

Main Content
Release date: 
June 20, 2011
Release Number: 

MARION, Ill. -- Two temporary Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC) are set to open this week in Metropolis on Wednesday and Herrin on Thursday for southern Illinois survivors to meet face-to-face with disaster recovery specialists and receive help, state and federal officials said today.

The DRCs, operated jointly by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), will be open from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. seven days a week at the following locations. The center in Metropolis will be open one week, closed for a week, and return to the same location for another week of service. The center in Herrin is scheduled to be open for only one week.

Metropolis Elementary School, 1015 Filmore St., Metropolis, Ill.
Open Wednesday, June 22 through Tuesday, June 28
Closed June 29 through July 5
Reopen Wednesday, July 6 through Tuesday, July 12

Herrin Elementary School, 5200 Herrin Road, Herrin, Ill.
Open Thursday, June 23 through Wednesday, June 29

Residents do not have to go to the centers to apply for disaster assistance. Individuals are encouraged to first apply by completing an application online anytime at or by web enabled mobile device at or by calling toll-free at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585. Both numbers are available seven days a week, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (CDT), until further notice. Help in other languages is available.

DRC services include checking on the status of your disaster assistance application and finding out about other disaster programs available from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), state and local agencies, and voluntary organizations. To be considered for federal disaster assistance, residents must apply with FEMA even if they already provided damage information to local officials, other agencies or organizations.

SBA low-interest disaster loans may be available for homeowners, renters, businesses and private non-profit organizations of all sizes to repair or replace real estate, contents and/or personal property damaged in the severe storms and flooding. SBA customer service representatives will be present to answer questions and accept completed loan applications. Information and assistance from SBA is also available at 1-800-659-2955, (TTY) 1-800-877-8339 or online at

The counties designated for Individual Assistance include Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hardin, Jackson, Lawrence, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, White and Williamson.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top