Main Content

President Declares A Major Disaster For Montana

Release date: 
June 17, 2011
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to Montana to supplement the state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms occurring on April 3, 8, 22, 26, and 30; and on May 9-10, 18-21, and 30, 2011, and flooding resulting from those storms beginning on April 4, 2011, and continuing.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding in the counties of Big Horn, Blaine, Broadwater, Carbon, Carter, Cascade, Chouteau, Custer, Dawson, Fallon, Fergus, Garfield, Golden Valley, Hill, Judith Basin, McCone, Meagher, Musselshell,  Petroleum, Phillips, Powder River, Prairie, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Stillwater, Sweet Grass,  Treasure, Valley, Wheatland, Wibaux, and Yellowstone, and the Crow, Fort Belknap, Northern Cheyenne, and Rocky Boy’s Reservations.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within the state.

Douglas G. Mayne has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.  Mayne said that additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.  

Follow FEMA online at, and  Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at

The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications. 

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
March 29, 2016 - 20:05
State/Tribal Government or Region: