More Than $13.1 Million Approved For Survivors Of Mississippi's April Storms And Tornadoes

Main Content
Release date: 
June 17, 2011
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. -- Federal assistance approved for people in 29 Mississippi counties that were declared a major disaster area by the president because of devastating storms and tornadoes has reached $13,105,292. The registration period for this assistance closes June 28.

Here is a summary through Wednesday, June 15, of all federal assistance to individuals who suffered losses due to the storms and tornadoes of April 2011:

  • $7,694,392 in total housing and personal needs has been approved.
  • Of that amount, $6,454,239 has been approved for housing expenses, including temporary rental assistance, home repair costs and assistance toward replacing destroyed homes.
  • $1,240,153 has been approved as "Other Needs Assistance" to cover essential disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses and lost personal possessions.
  • $5,410,900 in loans to homeowners, renters or business owners has been approved by the U.S. Small Business Administration.
  • 7,162 applicants have registered with FEMA for some form of disaster assistance.
  • 2,992 visits have been made at Disaster Recovery Centers operated jointly by FEMA and the state of Mississippi.
  • 4,494 home inspections to confirm disaster damage have been completed.
  • Teams of MEMA and FEMA Community Relations field specialists have distributed more than 49,822 flyers and worked in the affected counties to help identify and assist disaster survivors. In the course of explaining the recovery process, they have visited:
    • 14,875 residents
    • 1,742 businesses
    • 1,298 faith-based groups
    • 279 community organizations
    • 70 schools
    • 486 emergency managers, fire and law enforcement officials
    • 419 government officials
    • 131 post offices

Amounts approved under FEMA's Individuals and Households Program for counties affected by the April 2011 storms and tornadoes:

CountyIHP Amount
Alcorn $67,979.80
Attala $40,900.16
Chickasaw $916,657.96
Choctaw $208,390.63
Clarke $338,280.70
Clay $482,932.98
Coahoma $182,334.60
DeSoto $114,581.43
Greene $443,817.01
Grenada $11,644.58
Hinds $348,923.26
Holmes $254,867.56
Kemper $558,912.74
Lafayette $167,689.38
Leflore $76,680.83
Marshall $79,998.37
Monroe $1,237,186.85
Montgomery $78,938.63
Neshoba $53,425.08
Newton $140,124.90
Panola $298,985.01
Quitman $191,681.51...
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top