Southeastern Missourians Should Call FEMA to Schedule an Inspection

Main Content
Release date: 
June 16, 2011
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is encouraging those in Southeast Missouri who have registered for FEMA assistance to call and schedule an inspection if one has not already been confirmed. Floodwaters are now receding and homes are becoming accessible allowing FEMA to complete inspections in the affected area to determine eligibility for Individual Assistance.

Those survivors who have not registered with FEMA should do so by July 8, 2011. Registration may be completed online at, by smartphone through, or by calling FEMA’s toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). If you have a speech disability or hearing loss and use a TTY, call 1-800-462-7585 directly; if you use 711 or video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. Multi-language assistance is available. Telephone registration is available daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., until further notice.

If you have already registered, call FEMA’s Helpline, 800-621-FEMA (3362), select the language option you require, and update your application for an inspector’s visit. The Helpline is open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

After you register, a FEMA-contracted housing inspector will call you to set up an appointment to inspect your property. There is no charge for this service, but it is a necessary step to determine damages.

Make sure your home or mailbox number is easily visible from the road. As part of the inspection process, you must provide proof of ownership or occupancy:

  • Homeowners may show a tax bill, deed, mortgage payment receipt or insurance policy with the property's address.
  • Renters may show a lease, current rent payment receipt, utility bill or other document confirming the home was their primary residence at the time of the disaster.
  • Homeowners and renters must also present a valid driver's license or other photo ID.

For any assistance along the way – such as help filling out the applications, and general questions or progress reports – you may call the FEMA Helpline. If you would like to speak with someone one-on-one, visit a disaster recovery center. For a list of centers in your area, go to

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with a speech disability or hearing loss who use a TTY call 1-800-462-7585; or use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS) to call 1-800-621-3362.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top