10 Days Remain To Register For Federal Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 16, 2011
Release Number: 

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Tornado survivors in Alabama have 10 days until the deadline to register for federal disaster assistance.

Monday, June 27 is the deadline for registering with the Federal Emergency Management Agency and to submit your U.S. Small Business Administration disaster loan application.

The The Alabama Emergency Management Agency, FEMA and its federal partners encourage any person or business owner who had storm-related damage to their home, vehicle, personal property, business or its inventory between April 15 and May 31, and who has not registered, to do so quickly.

Survivors in the 43 counties eligible for Individual Assistance should apply for assistance even if they have insurance or are unsure if they are eligible. Insured survivors should also file claims with their insurers.

Assistance may include rental payments for temporary housing for those whose homes are unlivable, grants for home repairs and replacement of essential household items not covered by insurance, grants to replace personal property and help meet medical, dental, funeral, transportation and other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other federal, state and charitable aid programs.

Anyone who has not registered with FEMA for disaster aid, has questions about their application or seeks more information about recovery programs should call FEMA’s toll-free helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362). People who are deaf or hard of hearing can call (TTY) 800-462-7585. Lines are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. and multilingual assistance is available. Online registration is available at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or through a smartphone or tablet at m.fema.gov.

Survivors also can register by visiting a disaster recovery center. To find one in your area, go online to www.fema.gov/drclocator or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362). Hours are 7:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday. They are closed Sundays.

Monday, June 27, also is the deadline for filing an application for a low-interest loan with the Small Business Administration. While survivors are not required to accept a disaster loan, completing the SBA application is essential to receiving other assistance.

Low-interest disaster SBA loans are available to homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes. They are the largest source of disaster funds for repairing or replacing damaged or destroyed property.  SBA has approved approximately $38 million in disaster loans.

To date, 81,000 survivors in Alabama have registered for disaster assistance and $53 million in FEMA assistance has been approved for individuals and households.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.


Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top