Main Content

Second Illinois Disaster Recovery Center To Open Thursday in Junction

Release date: 
June 15, 2011
Release Number: 

MARION, Ill. -- The second Illinois temporary Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) is set to open on Thursday in Junction to help survivors meet face-to-face with disaster recovery specialists. Additional locations and dates are being finalized, state and federal officials said today.

The DRC, operated jointly by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency, will be open from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. seven days a week. The center will be open one week, closed for a week, and return to the same location for another week of service.

Gallatin School, 5175 IL Hwy 13, Junction, Ill. (gymnasium entrance)
Open Thursday, June 16 through Wednesday, June 22Closed June 23 through June 29
Reopen Thursday, June 30 through Wednesday, July 6 … the center will be OPEN Monday, July 4th

Residents do not have to go to the center to apply for disaster assistance.  Individuals are encouraged to apply by completing an application online anytime at or by web enabled mobile device at or by calling toll-free at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585. Both numbers are available seven days a week, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (CDT), until further notice.  Help in other languages is available.

DRC services include checking on the status of your disaster assistance application and finding out about other disaster programs available from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), state and local agencies, and voluntary organizations. To be considered for federal disaster assistance, residents must apply with FEMA even if they already provided damage information to local officials, other agencies or organizations.

SBA low-interest disaster loans may be available for homeowners, renters, businesses and private non-profit organizations of all sizes to repair or replace real estate, contents and/or personal property damaged in the severe storms and flooding. SBA customer service representatives will be present to answer questions and accept completed loan applications. Information and assistance from SBA is also available at 1-800-659-2955, (TTY) 1-800-877-8339 or online at

The counties designated for Individual Assistance include Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hardin, Jackson, Lawrence, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, White and Williamson.

Follow FEMA online at,,, and  Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at  The social media links provided are for reference only.

FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.  FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: