Yankton County Added to South Dakota Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
June 10, 2011
Release Number: 

PIERRE, SD - In response to a request by Governor Dennis Daugaard, the President today added Yankton County to the federal disaster declaration originally signed on May 13, 2011.

In total, 31 South Dakota counties are now eligible for FEMA Public Assistance funding, and one county (Clay) is eligible for emergency protective measures, limited to Direct Federal Assistance under the Public Assistance program.

“Yankton County recently was declared eligible for Direct Federal Assistance for emergency protective measures,’’ Governor Dennis Daugaard said. “This new designation for Yankton County expands the types of expenditures for which cities and counties may be eligible for partial reimbursement."

FEMA Public Assistance was originally made available to governments and certain private nonprofit agencies in the following South Dakota counties: Aurora, Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Buffalo, Clark, Codington, Day, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Marshall, Miner, Moody, Perkins, Potter, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, and Sully.  Stanley County was added May 31, 2011. Union County was added to the declaration June 8 for Categories A-G.

“FEMA is working diligently with South Dakota to coordinate Federal assets to help with this flood fight,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Mark Neveau.  “We commend the state and counties for working together so well in order to make this happen.  This flood fight is literally a moving target right now, but we’re committed to being here to the end.” 

Under FEMA’s Public Assistance program, FEMA funds at least 75 percent of the cost of eligible work by governments and certain private nonprofits. The State of South Dakota will contribute an additional 10 percent of the eligible costs. Communities contribute 15 percent of eligible costs.  In addition, Federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation efforts in all counties in the State.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top