Main Content

Four Additional Kentucky Counties Eligible for Individual Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 10, 2011
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Homeowners, renters and business owners in four additional Kentucky counties are now eligible for federal assistance to help recover from the effects of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that struck the Commonwealth from April 22 to May 20. The counties designated today for assistance are Carroll, Carlisle, Fulton and Johnson. These four counties join 17 other Kentucky counties where residents who sustained damages should register with FEMA to start the federal disaster aid process.

Individual assistance is available in 21 Kentucky counties: Ballard, Boyd, Carlisle, Carroll, Crittenden, Daviess, Fulton, Graves, Hardin, Henderson, Hickman, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Livingston, Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Pike, Union and Webster.

Individuals in these counties who suffered damages are strongly encouraged to register with FEMA today. The deadline to register is July 18, 2011. They can apply for aid three ways: calling FEMA at (800) 621-3362 or TTY (800) 462-7585 for those who are deaf, hard of hearing or speech impaired; online at; or directly on their mobile phones at

Whether you go online or talk with a teleregistration representative from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, have the following information ready:

  • Name and Social Security number
  • Address of the damaged property
  • Current address and telephone number
  • Insurance information
  • Total household annual income
  • Bank account information for direct deposit
  • Description of your damages

FEMA's Individual Assistance program can help eligible applicants with temporary housing assistance, uninsured personal property losses and medical, dental, and funeral expenses caused by the disaster, along with other disaster-related expenses and serious needs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance.

Joint damage assessments continue in other counties and additional counties may be added for IA. Residents that suffered storm and flood related damage are encouraged to document and photo the damage and keep any repair receipts. Please report any damage to your local emergency management.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Additional information about this disaster is available at and

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: