FEMA Disaster Aid to Kentucky Tops $6.5 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
June 10, 2011
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Less than one month after being designated for Individual Assistance, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Commonwealth of Kentucky have approved more than $6.5 million in assistance to Kentucky residents affected by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding from April 22 to May 20. Approved funds may be used to assist residents as they repair their damaged homes, replace uninsured personal property and find temporary housing following the disaster.

Individual assistance is available in 21 Kentucky counties: Ballard, Boyd, Carlisle, Carroll, Crittenden, Daviess, Fulton, Graves, Hardin, Henderson, Hickman, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Livingston, Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Pike, Union and Webster.

To date, 1,465 Kentuckians in designated counties have registered for FEMA assistance. Aid has already been approved for 812 applicants. FEMA housing inspectors have conducted 1,188 inspections of damaged properties, including 273 in the last seven days.

FEMA has approved $6,536,407 in Individual Assistance. This includes $5,901,240 in Housing Assistance: money for temporary housing for individuals whose homes were severely damaged and uninhabitable. It also includes funds for repairs to damaged homes.

In addition to the Housing Assistance funds, FEMA has approved $635,166 in Other Needs Assistance. These funds help affected residents replace damaged or destroyed personal property, transportation expenses, and any medical or dental costs resulting from the disaster.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has issued 993 disaster loan applications. SBA loans are the primary source of federal disaster recovery funds for long-term disaster recovery. Loans are available to homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes to repair or replace damaged property and business assets not fully covered by insurance or other aid. Four loans have already been approved, totaling $586,200.

FEMA is currently operating seven Disaster Recovery Centers across the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Thus far, 664 residents have visited these centers, meeting face to face with disaster recovery specialists. Representatives from the SBA are also on hand at the centers to help residents with disaster loan applications.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top