Union County Added to South Dakota Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
June 9, 2011
Release Number: 

PIERRE, SD - In response to a request by Governor Dennis Daugaard, the President yesterday added Union County to the federal disaster declaration originally signed on May 13, 2011.

In total, 30 South Dakota counties are now eligible for FEMA Public Assistance funding, and two counties (Clay and Yankton) are available for emergency protective measures, limited to direct Federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program.

Union county had already been declared eligible for direct federal assistance for emergency protective measures. The disaster declaration enlarges the types of expenditures for which cities and counties may be eligible for partial reimbursement," said Governor Daugaard.

FEMA Public Assistance was originally made available to governments and certain private nonprofit agencies in the following South Dakota counties: Aurora, Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Buffalo, Clark, Codington, Day, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Marshall, Miner, Moody, Perkins, Potter, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, and Sully.  Stanley County was added May 31, 2011.

We are making Federal resources available to counties that have been burdened by the flood fight,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Mark Neveau.  “Helping these communities recover from flooding will not happen overnight, but we continue to support the State of South Dakota and the citizens in their valiant effort.”

Under FEMA’s Public Assistance program, FEMA funds at least 75 percent of the cost of eligible work by governments and certain private nonprofits. The State of South Dakota will contribute an additional 10 percent of the eligible costs. Communities contribute 15% of eligible costs.  In addition, Federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation efforts in all counties in the State.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top